Ensuring a Safe Hunt with Hunter Safety Training

This is Passport to Texas

The closer we get to fall hunting season, the faster hunter education courses fill up.

08—Take it well before the busy season starts, because as the season progresses, courses get more difficult to obtain.

Hunter Education Coordinator, Terry Erwin says you’ll find the hunter education schedule on the Texas Parks and Wildlife website.

13—And then look under Outdoor Learning. Courses are listed under two-day courses, or even the online courses are available. And pick one that’s closest to your location and convenient to your scheduling.

Those born on or after September 2, 1971, who are at least nine years old, must take the course. Not having completed hunter education training could result in a fine if caught.

10—The fine could be a Class C misdemeanor up to $500 for not having a hunter safety course. That happens to be the number one citation written this year.

Young hunters between 9 and 17 years old may go into the field with someone who is licensed.

16—Once you turn 17 you have at least one-year option of buying the deferral, which gives you an extra year’s time to take the course. But, you still must hunt with a licensed hunter while in the field.

The Sport Fish and Wildlife Restoration Program supports our series and works to increase fishing, hunting, shooting and boating opportunities in Texas.

For Texas Parks and Wildlife…I’m Cecilia Nasti.

Comments are closed.